The 2016 Pinch Literary Award Winners

We’re thrilled to announce the winners of the 2016 Pinch Literary Awards.

We had an unprecedented number of entries presenting our judges with a challenging decision. Thank you to all who entered and congratulations to our winners! Scroll down to read their work.

Poetry (Judged by Alex Lemon)

Winner:  "Hymn"    John McCarthy

First Runner Up:  "Lithomancy"     Chelsea Wagenaar
Second Runner Up:  "Pastoral"    Jocelyn Casey-Whiteman


Fiction (Judged by Leslie Pietrzyk)

Winner:  "Goshen Pass"  –  Michael Alessi

First Runner Up:  "Clown Brain Tea"  –  Sarah Hulyk Maxwell
Second Runner Up:  "Takes Dying Animals"  –  Brittany Bronson


Creative Nonfiction (Judged by Nicole Hardy)

Winner:  "Shakedown"   Amy J. E. MacKenzie

First Runner Up:  "Marrying Absurd"  –  Anna Leahy
Second Runner Up:  "The Khan Rules"  –  Eugenia Kim